If you’re lucky enough to have a video reach the masses, you may find yourself being contacted by popular publishers to re-use your content while adding credits. As some of these publishers may have a larger audience this will often help the growth of your social media channels and can be very beneficial.
However, there can be a downside to having one of your videos go viral. It can sometimes be downloaded and re-uploaded without permission by people using it to increase their channel views/subscribers. This can potentially lead to their financial gain and your loss.
There are a few steps you can take to either prevent this process or act quickly once you spot it.
Last year, YouTube announced a new tool called the Copyright Match tool which is designed to search re-uploads of your videos on other channels.
This service will now scan the entire video database before videos are uploaded to check if the content already exists or is similar to any other videos on the platform. It will only flag up complete videos and not clips.
To enable this, you’ll have to be apart of the YouTube partner program which currently requires having 4000 hours of watch time within the last 12 months and at least 1000 subscribers.
Finding Channels who have used your content
1. Once logged in, click your profile icon on the top right
2. Select ‘YouTube Studio (Beta)’
3. Once selected you’ll see a menu appear on the left hand side. Select ‘Copyright’
Once the page has loaded, you may see a list of your videos. If you don’t, you’re in luck! There’s no duplicates of your video on YouTube.
If there is a list showing, it means your video/videos are being used by others. This list will also show you some other information such as the channel that re-uploaded your video, how many views the video’s had and a list of actions to take.
From Here you’ll have 3 options:
1: Archive the Match.
This means you have noted that there is a match but don’t wish to take action. It will them move into archives and disappear from the Matches tab.
2. Request Video removal. This is the strongest course of action you can take out of the three and if you choose to request removal, it will then display a button to confirm that’s what you want to do:
Once clicked, you’ll have a basic form to fill out and sign. Be sure to fully understand what you are signing as your are legally taking ownership of the content.
Choosing the ‘Scheduled’ option shown above will allow the channel 7 days to remove the video before action is taken. The second option (Request Remove now) will instantly give the channel a copyright strike.
Once you have followed the steps, you can keep track of the process back in the dashboard.
3. Contact the creator.
This will automatically generate an email which will notify the channel of what they are doing and the consequences of doing so.
We hope you find this guide useful and let us know if you have used this method before in the comments below!
Makers Central Team
No comments yet